My [Almost] December Daily

2013DecemberAlbum - Page 0012013DecemberAlbum - Page 002

For the first time, I tried to take pictures each day last month.  I started off wonderfully, and then kind-of petered out.  About half way through the month, I decided I was doing an [almost] daily project.

I’m really a digi-scrapper so this project was challenging me to go back to my traditional roots.  Taking pictures, adding filters and posting to Facebook and Instagram were the easy parts for me.  Getting prints and creatively putting into a book was the challenge.

I signed up for three December specific classes (yes, I’m an overachiever).  Monica Bradford‘s Your December Inspired; The Scrapper on the Street‘s Insta-Christmas and Jennifer Wilson’s Holiday Storyteller.  They all off ered prompts to inspire pictures and stories.  I’ve saved all the prompts, used a few but organized my album in my own way.

First, I ordered the pictures from a phone app called PostalPix.  It was cool choosing pictures right from my phone and their prices were very good for the 4×4 pictures I wanted.  I like the quality – much better than home printing, for me.  I will admit that I felt like they took a long time to arrive – but I’m really spoiled by the speed of Persnickety Prints.

I used a Smash-Book for the first time.  I love this concept and thought that this project would be a good first attempt.  I ended up loving the size of the book, however since it wasn’t a holiday specific themed one, I covered most of the pages with holiday paper.  This has made the book quite thick and a bit hard to turn the pages.  Lesson learned.

Once I had all the pieces ready, it only took a couple of hours to assemble; journal; and then photograph.  I’ve surprised myself in getting it done so quickly in the New Year.

I will likely try this again at the end of this year.  How are you coming along with your December project?

 

3 thoughts on “My [Almost] December Daily

Leave a Reply

