Using Historian to Organize Pictures

Organizing my pictures is a critical activity for me as I get ready for Layout A Day (LOAD). I like to use Panstoria’s Historian as my organizing and editing software program.

Historian%20store%20image

Usually I take the pictures off the camera more frequently than I organize in Historian. Therefore, I already have folders for each event’s pictures on my external hard drive. I import each event one at a time into Historian.

Import

Here are the activities I do with each import, many of these activities can also be done in other applications (Picasa, Windows Explorer, etc…)

Naming:
Name all pictures with the event or place. Highlight all the pictures and simply type the name into the General Panel on the right.
ReNamePictures

Tagging.
Tag all pictures with at least one tag. If both my husband and I are in the picture, it gets tagged with both our names. I will often select multiple pictures that would be tagged the same, then right click on them and tag away.

TagPictures    TagPictures1

Editing.
I do minimal editing. I may crop, however Artisan (my digi-scrapping software) also allows cropping and I find it easier to crop while working on my layout. Sometimes Occasionally, I’ll auto-fix for lighting/contrast.

ImageToolBar

Star-Rating.
While editing I star-rate my pictures. My rules are quite flexible. Four stars are the ones that must go in the scrapbook, while three stars are the ones that could go in the scrapbook. Two stars are the filler shots, if I need more to go on a layout. Additionally, five stars are the most special and possibly used over and over for layouts, prints, enlargements or more.

StarRating

Once this is done, I can easily look for pictures. My favorite way is to use the timeline at the bottom of the screen. Selecting the year.

timeline

Stretching it out to see each month and selecting one.

timelinestretch

Now I can select based on stars.

starRateSearch

And finally, I can share these pictures to Artisan and work on my layout.

SharetoArtisan

Now that my pictures are organized, I’m ready for the first prompt for LOAD on Saturday! I’m excited to finish my 2013 album in February.

3 thoughts on “Using Historian to Organize Pictures

  1. Pingback: Getting Ready for LOAD2015 [aka Layout a Day Feb. 2015] | Photos Kept Alive

Leave a Reply

