Mixed Media at Creative Live

Since I’m now a digi-scrapper, I’ve been enjoying getting my hands painty doing Mixed Media projects.  It was so excited to be selected to be part of the studio audience during Stephenie Hamen’s mixed media classes as Creative Live.

By the way, did you click here from the Make it Monday Circle?  Did you see how Beth makes a quick Mother’s Day present using her Cricut?  Read on for the next stop in the circle…..

I’d been watching classes at Creative Live for a while now and really do love this way of learning.   I’d taken Stephenie’s doodle class earlier this year and was really thrilled that she came to the Bay Area to teach Mixed Media.  It was my first studio audience experience and it was truly wonderful.  The Creative Live team really knows how to treat their host and audience – breakfast, snacks, lunch and even a quick toast of bubbly at the end of class!

Stephenie taught four 1/2 day classes over a two day period.  We jumped right in during the first class, Introduction to Mixed Media.  We decoupaged, did some paint dripping techniques, used paper quotes and generally had a fun time getting messy.  We even used wax as an adhesive – have you ever tried that?  WOW!   This was probably my favorite project of the entire time I was there.

20150409_115322

In the second class, Mixed Media on Wood, we used many of the techniques from the first but used wood as our ‘canvas’.  I’d never thought of this and loved the slice of wood that was provided.  We used air-dry clay to make the arrow and then Gelatos to paint it.  I’d never used Gelatos and have always wanted to try it.  I’m hooked!  I also loved doodling and hadn’t thought to incorporate that into a mixed media project.

2015-04-18 15.01.05

On day 2, we started with 3D Mixed Media Art Display – decoupage on another wooden element – this time a serving tray that we made into a shadow box.  I felt sort of rushed during this one as we were trying to accomplish quite a lot in a short time.  We all wanted to stay and work during the breaks & lunch, however the production team needed to reset the workspaces.  I did manage to finish this piece at home and am in love.  It’s going to a family member as a gift – if I can find a shipping box.

2015-04-18 15.00.43 2015-04-18 15.00.05 20150418_145956

By the last class, Photo Transfers for Mixed Media Collage Work, I must admit, I was pooped.  I loved the photo transfer technique and will absolutley try this again.  I also loved carving my own stamps.  That’s something I’d wanted to try and already own all the supplies.  I know I could have done better with this project, however I was immersed in the techniques and will try the project again another time.

2015-04-18 15.01.23

I’m looking forward to taking more Creative Live classes and maybe even being in the studio audience again.  They have a lot to offer and are really a top-notch organization.  Which of these projects interest you the most?  I’d love to read your thoughts in the comments.

And now, continuing in our Make it Monday Blog Circle, jump on over to Alison from Alison Day Designs who shows you how to turn your scraps into cute cards.

 

sign_up

 

 

3 thoughts on “Mixed Media at Creative Live

Leave a Reply

