Digi Father’s Day Card

Welcome back to the Make it Monday blog circle!  Did you come from Alice who showed how to make Dad a mini album for Father’s Day?  Her tips make it oh so easy!

Through my Scrap it Up 365 membership, I created a fun Father’s Day card with Panstoria Artisan.  Here’s the sketch that was the inspiration and my finished card.

PJPartySketch

PJPartyCard_LowRes

 

I opened a Miscellaneous 8 1/2 x 11 project to a blank page.  I selected the Createwings Beach Memories kit as I love the papers in this kit and have been in a beachy mood lately.

aCreatewingsDesigns_BM_Kit_Preview

I cut out a square shape from the blue paper and resized it to 5×7.  To make the circles, I cut them out of the blue paper, revealing the white background.  To get the shadow effect, select the 5×7 paper with the cut out circles and Format > Heavy Shadow.  Or play with a custom shadow if you’d like something different.

I then cut a star shape out of the brown paper.  I put the star on one of the circles, played with the sizing and tilt until just right.  I then copy/pasted it a few times for the other circles.  From there, I selected the stars in a single circle and Cut & Fill > Shapes and used the same circle shape as before.  Move it over the circle and cut – what’s left is the star peeking from behind.

I then added some string, banners and a title.

I loved the concept of the cut outs and will be doing that again and again with different shapes!  I’ve added this card to my Sendcere account so click here if you’d like to send it to your dad too!

Thanks Melissa from Scrap it Up 365 for your inspiration!  Scrap it Up 365 is a new membership site for paper and digi scrapbookers.  There are monthly sketches, make ‘n takes, live events and challenges.  Check ’em out (and please tell them that I sent you)!

Now, continue in the Make it Monday Blog Circle to Kristie who is showing you a great folded shirt card, perfect for the guys! Added Bonus: it holds a gift card!  .

Today is the official kick off of the 2015 Summer Scrapping Challenge.  Have you joined our Facebook Group?  Click the image below to see what’s happening.

CoverPic

 

emailsignup

 

Leave a Reply

