Artisan 5 is here!

Artisan-5-Ambassador

I played with Artisan 5 this weekend and I will say that I’m impressed. The new interface is cleaner, faster and more intuitive. I did have to hunt down a few of my favorite features from version 4, but all in all this is a great update.

Following are some of the changes that I enjoyed:

* The work-space is bigger. The tabs on the right have moved to the top of the right window giving more room for viewing the layout.

* Pop ups are gone. Instead, when you initiate a feature (like cutting) the right hand window will have settings. It took me a little bit to get used to it but I do love that there’s no pop up covering my layout.

* When viewing your two page layout, it’s now easy to switch between the left and right side without needing to save all the time.

* There are new on-screen alignment guides so when you move an object like a photo frame it’s ease to see how it lines up with other objects.

* When using Fill Selected Shape, you can now use a specific part of the paper instead of the default of the upper left corner.

* It’s easy to use the mouse wheel to zoom in and out on your pages.

BUT – a couple of things to know before you purchase or upgrade:

  • The minimum requirements are different than Artisan 4.  Most importantly, you can only install on a 64-bit machine. If you are using a 32-bit machine, stay with Artisan 4.
  • You will NOT be able to use an Artisan 5 project in file in Artisan 4.  In other words, projects in Artisan 5 are not backwards compatible with Artisan 4.

I’m planning some quick process videos so you can see the features that I’m using in my layouts.

Use the code CELEBRATE for 20% off your Panstoria purchases through September 30th.  [this does not include Print Shop purchases]

FL-Week-Forever-Store

Leave a Reply

