Forever Friday: Layout turned into Canvas Print

Can you believe it’s half way through 2017?  Why does time fly by so fast!?!?!  I won’t even tell you how close to the holiday season we are.  ha ha ha!

I was window shopping recently and saw this in a store window and was immediately inspired.

I had an idea, in my head, on how I would do this in Artisan.  It worked out fine, however I think there’s probably an easier way.

  1. Insert > Shape > Anchor.
  2. Use the outliner tool (Insert > Outliner) to make a duplicate shape.  Then on the element, right click Text > Format and work with the settings on the right panel.  Make sure to mark “Fill shape with text” and type in the text as you want it to show.
  3. Edit the text to use the Font(s) and approximate size(s).  I used Felix Titling and Agency FB as my fonts and it was mostly sized at 30-36pts.
  4. Fiddle with the Text element Shape > Edit shape to change the points to fit the text where I want it.  This took me over an hour to play with until I got it right.  I ended up using a Text Path for the final line in the curve of the anchor.
  5. Add the background image (my own photograph taken in San Francisco Bay).
  6. Select the shape from Step 1 and Format > Gradient.  I used colors from the image to blend in.
  7. With that same shape selected, Filter > Edge > 3D Edge.
  8. I added a little glow to give it more dimension and then I flattened the shape and added a heavy shadow.

Here’s the finished product – what do you think?

One thought on “Forever Friday: Layout turned into Canvas Print

Leave a Reply

